Travel

Circle Line and acroynms

I spend about an average of 2 hours traveling everyday. And all via public transport. Hence, it is only natural that much of my recent posts are on transport.

Took the EW line early this morning–at about 8am. It was already rather crowded and I could only get a seat at City Hall when people started getting off the train.

Changed at Paya Lebar to the Circle Line. I think the connection is pretty good. I didn’t feel like I had to walk very long. Even though it was quite early in the morning, the Circle Line train was already rather crowded. I felt, however, that most people were using the Circle Line to get to the interchanges such as Serangoon, Dhoby Ghaut and Paya Lebar, rather than the stations in between like Tai Sing, Dakota, Stadium etc.

Circle Line trains have 5 or 6 handholds in the middle. They are a trapezium shape and are much thinner than the EW and NS line trains. Even though the Circle Line is new, the handholds had smudges of dirt on them.

Was talking to my friends and commenting that Singaporeans like to use acronyms a lot. Lee Kuan Yew becomes LKY. Resort World Sentosa becomes RWS. Even Universal Studios Singapore becomes USS. Harry Potter is HP. Lord of the rings is LOTR. And so on and so forth. I never realize how much acronym is part of our language until I went away and lost touch with these words.

Leave a Reply

