Everyday life

Thankful

The Imperial Outdoor Club t-shirt which I thought I lost a year ago, was found on the back on the boy that my mum looks after. It made me mad, knowing my precious t-shirt was being used and destroyed by him.

Perhaps I’m a sentimental fool, but that t-shirt held special meaning to me, and was important in ways that some memories are treasured.

Yet another birthday. It seems that as I grow older, it becomes harder to keep track of how old I am, and when my birthday is.

Every year, I’m reminded of how lucky I am to have all the friends that I have. People who wish me well, people who’ve helped and supported me through it all. Even if there are some things that don’t go well, at least I have them.

Every year, on this day, I like to reflect on how I’ve lived the past year. To see if I’ve come closer to my goal. Maybe my expectations are too high, but I honestly think I haven’t. Except in one small aspect–to be more honest with oneself. There are other hurdles to clear–temper, being too judgemental, being too emotional, reacting too quickly. And after what happened last October, I think I’m starting to have a clearer idea of what I want with my life. We all have limited resources and there are many different ways we can spend these resources. I want to use these resources to be a better person.

Thankful for yet another year of being healthy. Thankful also for good mentors and colleagues. For lovely nature to indulge in, for cool morning air and smell of rain.

So I’ve lived for a quarter of a century now. I hope I’ve done some good in this world.

Leave a Reply

